User management allows to add, modify, delete, search users and to import and export users list.
It is possible to deactivate a user if needed. If deactivated, the user can no longer be selected in drop-down menu for tickets or inventories, but keeps associated items and tickets. Validity dates can also define the activity time slot of user: the user account will be considered as active only after the start date and/or before the end date. Both dates can be defined independently.
A photo can be added manually or imported automatically from a directory (see Authenticate users with LDAP).
For debugging or administrative purposes, it’s possible for a “super-admin” account (or any profile with the configuration rights) to temporarily take the ownership of another user’s account without knowing its password. An icon is available at the top of the user´s form to perform this action.
- A special banner will show permanently as long as the function is active and will allow you to exit this mode.
- After the exit, the admin will retrieve its session as it was before using the feature.
- The history of actions taken by the administrator will appear with a special note: “user (xxx) impersonated by admin (yyy)”.
The different tabs¶
This tab lists the groups associated to the user. Table includes group name, whether the group is dynamic (i.e. linked to a directory service), whether the user is delegatee or manager for the group (see Manage groups).
If modify user authorization is granted, it is also possible from this tab to assign a group to the user.
This tab allows to edit user’s settings (see Manage settings). In order to be able to modify data in this tab, general configuration modification authorization must be granted.
This tab lists the items for which user is defined in field User of the item or for which user is member of the group defined in field Group of the item.
See Tab « Used items »
This tab lists the items for which user is defined in field Technician in Charge of the item or for which user is member of the group defined in field Group in Charge of the item.
See Tab « Managed items »
This tab lists passed, current and future reservations of the user. In order to see this tab, read authorization on reservation management must be granted.
See Tab « Reservations »
This tab is displayed if Update Authentication and Synchronization right is granted. It allows to change authentication method for the user and to force its synchronization.
This tab list external links defined for users.
See Tab « Links »
The Tickets tab is used to create a ticket associated with the current object. It also lists the tickets already linked to the object.
A second table lists the tickets attached to the linked elements
Any deletion or addition of a ticket is recorded in the history.
For users, this tab allows to list tickets created by the user but also to create directly a ticket (the user will then be defined automatically as Requester).
Additional information is stored in the form of external documents which are files uploaded into GLPI. In the Documents tab, documents can be associated and unlinked with the selected item. The management of the documents themselves is dealt with in another chapter.
It is also possible to quickly create a document via this tab by specifying the desired file and optionally the field in which the new document is to be placed. The name of the created document will be based on the name of the added file.
When you delete a document from this tab via mass actions, you only remove the link between the object and the document; the document itself is still present.
The History tab is used to show any changes made to an item. The following information about the changes is available:
- ID of the change.
- Date and time the change was made.
- User who made the change. If this field is not filled, it means that the action was done automatically (For example: automatic inventory update).
- Field that was changed.
- Description of the change that was made.
The description of the change represents either the difference between the old and the new value (For example with location field: Change HQ to Remote Office A), or the explanation of the action which was carried out (For example: Uninstallation of a software: « Gimp 2.0 »).
For dropdowns or objects with a parent/child relationship, the modification of a child will appear in the history of the parent element.
If you have Debug mode enabled in your preferences, a Debug tab will appear before the All tab. This tab offers information to help you resolve an issue.
For example, for a computer, you have one or more tables depending on the affected object (financial information, reservations…) listing the notifications that will be triggered on this computer with:
- Triggering event
- Notification model used
- Recipient(s) email address
For an item, all information is displayed on one page from the All tab. This shows all of the tabs of an object’s form in one view, one below the other.